This is my Genre, Tell Me Yours, Book Tag!

Wow, I never though I’d be tagged, haha. But anyway, thanks icebreaker694 for tagging me! (And helping with links). This tag was also created by Drew @ the tattooed book geek. You should check out both of their blogs! They’re both good.

So, the rules are: 

  • Credit Drew@ the tattooed book geek as the creator of the tag. Use either the created tag name graphic or create your own and link back to his blog
  • Answer the questions
  • Tag as many people as you want

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE GENRE? 

Hmm…I’d have to mysteries/psychological thrillers and soft sci-fi. I don’t care for hard sci-fi in books…only in movies and TV. For mysteries and psychological thrillers, I like mind games and suspense, as well as trying to find the perpetrator using clues and writer’s instinct. (It’s usually 50/50). Sci-fi, because of all the what-if’s? What if this will happen? What if, even though it’s impossible, it was possible? What could happen? I love fantasy, but I prefer sci-fi because it’s usually grounded in what we already know, and what could happen.  

WHO IS YOUR FAVORITE AUTHOR FROM THAT GENRE?

I know this is cheating, but I decided to give out two of my favorite authors for both genres for books, and because I’m weird, Webtoons. (They need more attention)

Books:-

Mystery: Currently, Paula Hawkins, although she’s only written one mystery 

Sci-fi: I’ve only read two of his books, but Robert Heinlein. Nearly every sci-fi principle was created by him, plus he liked cats. Oh, and his bootstrap paradox was used in Doctor Who! 

Webtoons-

Mystery/psychological thriller: JongBeom Lee (Dr. Frost)

Sci-fi: Stephen McCranie (Space Boy

WHAT IS IT ABOUT THAT GENRE THAT KEEPSAKE PULLING YOU BACK?

Mystery/psychological thrillers: I love the unpredictability and plot twists. Plus, to make a good mystery you have to avoid clichés, so, usually, they’re really creative. I also enjoy it when they blend genres. Plus, there usually aren’t many characters, so the characters that are there are really well written and developed. 

Sci-fi: Sort of the same reasons as above, actually. To make a good sci-fi, you must stay away from clichés. That may be why I’m a little over the dystopia, but I really like it when writers can make a good what if scenario that seems almost plausible. 

WHAT IS THE BOOK THAT STARTED YOUR LOVE FOR THE GENRE?

That’s really difficult… I’ve liked them as long as I can remember. But I’ll try:

Mystery/psychological thrillers: A-Z Mysteries , Ron Roy

Sci-fi: The Girl who Could Fly-Victoria Forester

IF YOU HAD TO RECOMMEND AT LEAST ONE BOOK FROM YOUR FAVORITE GENRE TO A NON-READER/ SOMEONE LOOKING TO START THAT GENRE, WHAT BOOK WOULD YOU CHOOSE AND WHY?

Again, I’m cheating, but I’m going to recommend two books and two Webtoons. I’m terrible. 

Books-

Mystery/psychological thriller:  The Girl on the Train, : It’s a great book, with a good mystery that isn’t too confusing and makes sense. It stays away from clichés. The characters aren’t totally likeable either, which could make people complain. But I think it’s like Broadchurch; it’s what makes the story eerily realistic.

Sci-fi: I know this is strange, but Replica by Lauren Oliver. It’s a teen book, but it’s remiscent of popular sci-fi TV shows nowadays. The plot is interesting, as are the characters. Some aren’t incredibly developed, but that’s because it’s told from two perspectives in a really unique way.

Webtoons-

Mystery/psychological thriller: I’d say Dr. Frost. Some may argue that it isn’t a mystery, but I think that if House, M.D can be considered a mystery, than this can too. Not to mention the latest arcs… Anyway, I’d recommend this for any fans of a Sherlock sort of dynamic. It’s about  a genius psychologist ‘solving’ mental illnesses. 

Sci-fi: Space Boy. It’s a fun and interesting story with some of the best character casts I’ve seen. No one is who they appear, and even though it’s sci-fi, it has an unmistakeable human element to it. Some of the situations I can see happening in the future. It’s basically a sci-fi contemporary story.

WHY DO I READ?

Why are there so many hard questions on this that warrant long answers? Anyway, I think it’s because the real world is kind of boring, and books add a spice to my life. Also, I kind of like how books give you an insight to people in general. It makes you think about the people in your life, and their motivations. They make you more open minded. 

I tag:

Vivian Parkin DerosaSimplyabookdrunkard, Saloni

9 thoughts on “This is my Genre, Tell Me Yours, Book Tag!

  1. I have a copy of Replica, I hope to read it before the new year! 😄 And Mystery is amazing! I’ve heard a lot of good things about The Girl on the Train, I’ll add yours and to the pile. 🙂 I also need to read Sherlock Holmes, I still haven’t done that yet. And Webtoons certainly needs a lot of credit! (I saw a friend of mine reading Cheese in the Trap and I recommended a bunch of other Webtoons to her.) I haven’t been on Webtoons in a week because of finals, but I’ll start up again once they’re over. Great job on the tag!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Replica is really good, I like the format Lauren Oliver tried out. Yep, The Girl on the Train is really good. It’s not one of the best mysteries ever, but it’s still really good. Have you read more of Cheese in the Trap? Got any more questions? I’m rereading it, and lemme say, season 2 is much better than season 1. How about Annarasumanara and Dr. Frost? I don’t mean to nag, but I’m just curious! Thanks for reading, and good luck with finals!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve read some more Cheese in the Trap, but I haven’t gotten to any more Dr. Frost or Annarasumanara yet, sorry. No questions yet, but I’ll let you know if I have any! 😄I can’t wait to read Replica, it sounds great!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It is great! Okay, just let me know if y have any questions about Cheese in the Trap. And remember, it only gets better in season two! Oh, and you can rant about it to me…It will trigger plenty of ranting, haha. And let me know when you continue Dr. Frost and Annarasumanara…especially Dr. Frost. I do believe the Moriarty character has just been revealed!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Same, ranting about fiction is always good. Oh, the writer is such a troll…in a commentary, he said, “I get a lot of questions about this character. Is he a good guy? A bad guy? Hehehe…” If course, if I were writing something like that and I got those questions, I’d react the same. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

