“What Cats Do” book tag (original)

So… I have created another tag…haha. This time, it’s just for books and written media [comics, manga, Webtoons] and the questions are all based on things cats do and things cat owners experience. Before this tag starts, I’d like you to appreciate my cats for a moment:


I will probably do another variation on this tag with movies and TV in the future. The rules are:


PURR- AS CATS DO THIS WHEN THEY’RE HAPPY OR RELAXED, WHAT IS THE BOOK THAT MAKES YOU HAPPIEST OR RELAXED?

Hmm… Any book that I’ve read a few times. I know what’s going to happen, so it’s like comfort food. And for Webtoons, Saphie the One Eyed Cat. It’s humorous and cute, guaranteed to put a smile on my face. 

SLEEP- WHAT IS A BOOK THAT PUT YOU TO SLEEP OR WAS JUST BORING?

My parents used to read to me when I was younger and about to go to bed, and I fell asleep a lot during the books, especially with Lord of the Rings. 

TWITCH WHILE DREAMING- HAVE YOU EVER DREAMT OF A BOOK YOU READ?

I wish I could say yes, but I haven’t. How sad. 😦 

SEEMS TO PLAY NICE…UNTIL THE CLAWS ARE OUT- WHICH BOOK HAD THE BIGGEST PLOT TWIST(S)?

There’s a lot. I would say Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows probably had the biggest plot twists for me, mainly in the last half. And for Webtoons, Bastard. I nearly said Hooky, but that plot twist is slow burning. With Bastard, the plot twist comes and hits you in the face…by the third chapter. Oh dear. 

 CUDDLES- WHICH BOOK CHARACTER WOULD YOU GIVE A HUG TO?

I don’t think any book character would approve of being hugged by a stranger… so none. 

CATNIP- WHAT’S A BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAVE WARM AND FUZZY FEELS?

Warm and fuzzy…that’s hard for my books. Maybe I Am The Messenger? That certainly had its fun, warm and fuzzy moments. For Webtoons: probably Miss Abbott and the Doctor. Easily one of the lightest things I’ve ever read.


CAT BREEDS- WHAT ARE YOUR FAVORITE BOOKS?

I’m mad at myself for putting this on! For books: I really do love Harry Potter. Easily one of the deepest book series I’ve ever read. And also I am the Messenger; while I do love The Book Thief, also by Markus Zusak, I prefer I am the Messenger. It may be that it’s modern, but I related to the characters more, but somehow, I found this to be just as profound, if not more so, than The Book Thief. For Webtoons: the two that pop to mind are Dr. Frost and Annarasumanara. Dr. Frost is a unique mystery series, and it explores the human mind. Some of the psychology in this series is controversial and subjective, but that’s  really a lot of psychology in general. It had great characters and development.  Annarasumanara  is beautiful. No other way to put it. The art, the story, the writing, and the characters. It’s so deep and profound, and genuinely moving. 

GETTING THE CAT- HOW DID YOU FIND YOUR FAVORITE BOOK(S).

For Harry Potter, it was my mom. I was in second grade, and she decided to read them to me because she wanted to see what all the fuss was about. We both loved it, although we took a short break at one point. I am the Messenger: a school administrator saw me reading The Book Thief one day and recommended I am the Messenger . Dr. Frost was my first Webtoon; a friend of mine recommended it highly, saying she knew I’d love. She also recommended Annarasumanara. 

THE VET’S OFFICE- YOUR LEAST FAVORITE  BOOK:

It’s hard to think of one, but at the moment, I’d say Allegiant. I liked the Divergent series until that point.

BEING IN PLACES THEY SHOULDN’T- LEAST FAVORITE CLICHÉ:

Love triangles. So far, there have only been two that I actually like and think work; Siren’s Lament and The Infernal Devices series. 

FINAL QUESTION: THE GOOD OLD CARDBOARD BOX- MOST UNDERRATED BOOK SERIES. 

Easily the Stoker and Holmes books. By the description, they may sound like fanfiction. But they’re so good and well written. Plus, the two main female characters are awesome. And for Webtoons: Sword Interval. It’s got good art, interesting characters, well-designed monsters, and amazing worl-building.

I tag: Icebreaker694Novel SanchezOY30TianaKirascribbledTheorangutanlibrarianJamie @ book pandemonium, Kittyreadsandquotes

Or…if you’re a random blogger who found this tag and liked it, you are more than welcome to use it! 

22 thoughts on ““What Cats Do” book tag (original)

  1. YES!!! I love love love cats!!! I needed this tag, it looks super fun, and I love your cats! 😄 I loved all your answers, and you mentioned manga at the top. What’s your favorite manga? I’ve only read a few, but I really like them! And Miss Abbott and the Doctor is amazing and does give you warm fuzzy feels!! Also Stoker and Holmes should get more hype, it deserves it (I haven’t found the other books yet).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m a cat person too! I’ve never had a dog, but I love the, as well. Yep, I wanted to just post a picture of my cats, I needed to spread the cuteness, lol. Hmm…manga; I usually read the manga of the anime I’ve seen, and so far I have to admit it’s still Death Note. The writing was better in the manga, but I think it could’ve been better if it had been published bi-weekly; some plot points were weak, and problematic situations that even the writer admitted to wanting to write better could’ve been more thought out. But the second part of the manga didn’t have nearly as big a drop in quality as the anime. Stoker and Holmes is easily the most underrated thing I’ve ever read. And I think you could try finding them online; even I have trouble finding them in bookstores. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Starting online sounds good, I bet I can find them on there. I’ll tell you when I start to read them, but first I have some other books I’ve promised to read and make reviews for. And CATS! I currently have one dog and four cats. I’m crazy about cats more than dogs, but I like dogs too. You’re cats are cuuuuteee!! I haven’t read or watched Death Note, what is it about? I’m now watching a lot of anime, and I need to catch up with their manga versions. And thanks for tagging me again it’s much appreciated!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks! Yeah, it’s hard when you have a lot of books to read, haha. That’s a lot of pets, goodness! Cute! Yes, my cats are total sweethearts and still playful! Death Note is unique; the main character is the villain, so it’s rather subjective of whether you support him or not. Basically, it’s about Light Yagami, a highschool student who finds The Death Note, where if you put someone’s name into it, they’ll die. There’s a lot of other rules too. And the antagonist is my favorite character; he’s a Sherlockian detective (genius and eccentric) who is trying to catch Light. It’s really good, although the second part of the anime especially, left much to be desired. No problem; I like tagging!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That sounds like a really cool anime! It’s interesting that the antagonist gets to be the main character, I rarely hear that happening. And yes that’s a lot of pets, sometimes their sweet and sometimes their not. But most of them are all sweet.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Technically, the antagonist is the detective. Light is the protagonist, but a villain. I think the term is villain-protagonist or something like that. The antagonist is always the person against our protagonist, thwarting their goal. I don’t mean to sound know-it-all, I just wanted to help clarify some terms!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

