Q+A Response!

I have procrastinated long enough! Here are my responses to the questions so many of my amazing followers asked! Thanks!

Tiana asked:
What webtoon character is most like you?

…I….I dunno…I can relate to several, but oh my gosh, is this hard…well, one would be Seol Hong from Cheese in the Trap. We’re both on the sensitive side, and can over analyze situations. Although she over analyzes situations with her boyfriend, I do so with my friends. And one of my friends told me I reminded her of Emai from Nightmare Factory  because we’re both writers, stay up way too late, and have odd senses of humor…I dunno how to feel about that.

What is the best book you read this month?

Jackaby, for April. I haven’t read anything new yet for May. 



If you could get away with any crime what would it be?

Taking as many books, movies, snacks, and TV shows from a store as I can…(don’t judge me, I’m weird). 

Oy30 asked:

How do you feel about reaching 100 followers?
Stunned. Especially when I look back at my stats from last year and see that only 15 people viewed my blog in September. And now it’s over 2,000 for April. Like, what? 

If you could have a fictional character as your penpal who would you chose and why?

Oh my…anyone, as long as they were cool with having someone boring like me as their pen pal. Well, not anyone, like, no villains. That wouldn’t be fun. I think Durarara episode 2 got to my head a little bit. πŸ˜…

Too Much of a Book Nerd asked:

What is the story behind your blog name?

Glad you asked! Well, I self published my book, The Melting Pot, back in November, I wanted to create my blog to help garner awareness about that in back in August, but I didn’t just want to blog about The Melting Pot. So I added, “and other calamities” to show I’d be blogging about a variety of  stuff. And you can find my book here! I believe you can download it for free.

My book!

 

What is your favourite quote (from a book/movie/whatever)?

Hmm…I have way too many! I’ll leave one from a book, movie, and Webtoon:

“That the battles are usually in her head does not lessen the bravery of it. The hardest ones always are.” ― William Ritter, Jackaby

“When you become an artist, you are like that rock. You are in a raw, natural state with hidden gems inside. You have to dig down deep and find the emerald studs the way inside you. And that’s just the beginning. Once you found your gem, you have to polish them. It takes a lot of hard work. Oh, and here’s the tricky part. Look at the crack at the geo. You see that big green crystal there? You could spend years polishing that and it wouldn’t be worth much at all. The smaller crystals are much more valuable and there are maybe some deeper inside that we can’t see which are even more precious.” Shiro Nishi, Whisper of the Heart.

“Education, upbringing, employment, human relationships. There is an endless number of situations that make people feel helpless. People living in despair are like someone in a long tunnel…but in spite of what they think, the path that they are on, the path that we are on, is not a tunnel.” -JongBeom Lee, Dr. Frost

 If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

Uh…England, Italy, Japan, Florida, and a lot of other places I can’t think of…

Who is your favourite fictional character?

Why do you ask me this? This question literally hurts. Well, I’ll give a character from each of the following things (books, movies, TV shows, and Webtoons) that I have started. 

Book: Jackaby

T.V show: How do I say this…I have to say that Johan Liebert from Monster is one of the best villains I’ve ever seen. And Anna from the same show is such an underrated heroine, it hurts. Here’s a fan art, because fan art is awesome:

Link: The Twins

Movie: Rocket and Groot from Guardians of the Galaxy

Webtoon: Shin Ae from I love Yoo
The Orangutan Librarian asked:

What fictional world would you most like to live in? 

Maybe the steampunk world of Stoker and Holmes. 

 Would you rather be a squib in Harry Potter that’s got to face Voldemort or human in Middle Earth forced to fight Sauron?

I’m dead  either way, to be honest. I have no answer, because I’ll die no matter what I do. 

Icebreaker asked:

What are your reading goals for this year? (Comics, Manga, Books…)

Uh….read Lady Midnight (which I got  today), read Beastly Bones (also got today)read The Lunar Chronicles, Caraval, and do a buddy read with Icebreaker on  The Six of Crows, and start reading the Durarara!! light novels, the first I got today. And read both the Monster and Tokyo Ghoul manga. 

What’s the strangest thing you ever read in a book/comic/manga?

Uh….what I managed to read of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.

What are your cats’ names, and how did you name them that?

The orange one is named Dwight, and the small dark one is Buddy. Dwight was named after a guy at our old church who, whenever someone was going to have a baby, would say, “Dwight’s a nice name…” And we wanted to give Buddy a different name, and used Buddy as a test name. But it stuck. 


If you were to write a story about one of your cats, what would it be about?

Probably about what they do when we’re not home. Like sneaking into the cupboard, or Buddy pinning something on Dwight (Dwight’s a bit of a  scapegoat.) 

What was the first thing you thought of this morning?

I’m watching my neighbor’s dog this weekend, so my first thought was, “Crud! I gotta feed the dog!” 

Thanks everyone who asked me questions! I had so much fun with this, and I couldn’t ask for better followers. 

12 thoughts on “Q+A Response!

  1. Great answers! I think your cats are adorable! 😊 My youngest cat’s name is Dylan, but everyone in my family calls him Bootsy or Num Nums. They kind of stuck, but I still call him Dylan. Also, I’d be interested in a story like that, I always like to think my cats have a party when I’m not home. Also good luck on taking care of your neighbor’s dog! And I look forward to buddy reading with you this summer! πŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! Dylan now responds to those names rather than his given name, I’ll probably end up calling him Num Nums by late May, haha. And that’s good that the dog is so sweet! It certainly makes the job fun. πŸ˜€ Also yay!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This was an amazing post, Kate! πŸ™‚
    I love Shin Ae so far as well! She’s honestly the coolest and I can relate a bit to her (maybe because of her temper and ability to attract trouble hahaha)
    Lovely quotes, by the way. Oh, and I’d love to read those stories about your cats πŸ˜„ The reason why Dwight got his name was, in itself, super funny! They sound like a real pair of troublemakers (but so, so cute you cannot, for the life of you, get angry at them, am I right?)
    I hope you enjoy everything you have yet to read! Especially TLC, of course πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shin Ae is really cool, and for me, relatable. And thanks! Those are three of my current favorites. Ha, I may have to do a short story series on my cats now…seems to be popular! Dwight is super funny, and his name actually matches him! And they are troublemakers…I do get a little mad sometimes, but typically I am no match for the cute faces,

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

