Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Anyway, thanks Sophie @ Blame it on Chocolate for tagging me for this controversial tag! If you haven’t yet checked out her blog, I encourage you to do so! She blogs about so many books, it’s amazing!

Tag:

A POPULAR BOOK OR BOOK SERIES THAT YOU DIDN’T LIKE:


I know,  I know…I tried to read it, but as it didn’t make any sense and mainly felt like a bunch of random words strung together in semi coherent sentences, I simply couldn’t finish it. Sorry.

A POPULAR BOOK OR BOOK SERIES THAT EVERYONE ELSE SEEMS TO HATE BUT YOU LOVE:


“Hate” may be too strong for this, but whenever I try to talk about it to people outside my family, they always think of the Coen Brothers movie, or the John Wayne movie. Like, okay, the Coen Brothers’ movie was a great adaptation, but the book is really unknown for some reason. 

AN OTP THAT YOU DON’T LIKE:

I’m cheating, as I’m choosing a Webtoon, but Seol Hong and Jung Yu from Cheese in the Trap. Seol deserves way better…like, Jung has his sweet moments, but outside of those, he doesn’t have much development, and is creepily manipulative towards her. She even stays quiet about her opinions at parts because she doesn’t want to have an argument with him. I don’t understand why everyone loves them so much.

A POPULAR BOOK GENRE THAT YOU HARDLY REACH FOR.:

Maybe action…I’m cool with it as long as it isn’t the main genre. Same with sports.

A POPULAR/BELOVED CHARACTER THAT YOU DO NOT LIKE:

I’m cheating again, as I’m choosing a manga character, but maybe Light Yagami from Death Note. I don’t get how he has so many supporters; he’s a seventeen year old (for the first half) student with a God complex who is trying to rule the world. Would you really want that guy to become a dictator of a country, much less the world? He may have had good intentions in the beginning, but the moment he started killing people who simply got in his way (even though he was smart enough to eliminate them without killing them) I didn’t like him. He was an interesting protagonist and a good character, just not likable.

A POPULAR AUTHOR THAT YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO:

The fact that I’m picky about what I read seriously helps me with choosing fiction (I rarely come across something I strongly dislike) but does it say something that I have no interest in reading Carve The Mark, even though I liked the first two Divergent books? So maybe Veronica Roth.

A POPULAR BOOK TROPE THAT YOU’RE TIRED OF SEEING:

“Love cures all,” especially regarding mental illness. Like, no, your depression/OCD/other mental illness that doesn’t get enough representation, doesn’t go away overnight just because you fall in love with someone! It’s silly and irritating.

A POPULAR SERIES THAT YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING.

The Webtoon Noblesse. I started reading it and just didn’t get the hype. I have no interest in it now.

THE SAYING GOES “THE BOOK IS ALWAYS BETTER THAN THE MOVIE”, BUT WHAT MOVIE OR TV SHOW ADAPTATION DO YOU PREFER MORE THAN THE BOOK?:


The Shawshank Redemption. I read the novella and loved it, but somehow the movie made more of an impact on me. I recommend both!

I also have a question for you guys: for my Analyzing Women’s Strength in Fiction series, should I update the pictures with GIFs and screenshots, or just let them be? Or would you prefer one over the other? Please let me know! 

I Tag:

Rendz
Riana
Jackie
Jessica Marie
Charlotte
Read in a Flash

James J. Cudney

27 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. Thanks for tagging me!
    I also read all the Divergent books, but have absolutely no desire to read Carve the Mark, like ever. Lol.
    The trope you mentioned is also super annoying to read about.
    I love reading about other’s unpopular opinions. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad you finally got to this one, Kate! ^^
    First off, I think most people haven’t even read Alice in Wonderland… They just watched the movies and liked them. It became a trend more than anything else, and I admit it, I enjoy it as theme but I’ve never finished the book (I don’t remember why). I see Alice themed stuff everywhere, from clothes to accessories to just general aesthetics. And it’s super cool! But yeah, I don’t think many people have read it.
    Secondly, I think the reason why people love Light so much is because (some) secretly have a God complex themselves and would have liked to have had the same ability he had, if that was a possibility. I know it can be a bit unsettling to think about it, but I say this from experience as most people I know who like him have the same type of personality he does, and kind of project themselves into the character. I do realize there are exceptions, though.
    I think the “love cures all” trope can get annoying but I understand where people are coming from. It’s really easy to get lost in that illusion and it’s kind of like a placebo – it has a positive psychological effect on people, so they believe it works. And in believing it, it actually kind of works? It can be dangerous, of course, especially taking your example of mental health. But love does help people. Is it a magical cure, though? Hmm, hardly.
    Anyway, sorry for the (kind of cynical, I apologize) rant! I loved your answers and am looking forward to your next Analyzing Women’s Strengths 🙂 I personally enjoy visuals in posts, especially if they have a ton of info. So I hope you continue to use them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmm…I didn’t really think of that. 😅 It may be because when I was little, I didn’t even like the original film. It made too little sense for me. It is a cool theme, but ugh, I just wish it made sense! I get that that’s the point, but mist chaotic stories at least have some level of order to them. (Like the current anime I’m watching).
      Your point about Light makes sense! Most people do say that they think what he was doing was a good thing (eliminating criminals and such) but ignore that he killed innocents who didn’t even need to die. I guess I just don’t like him because I only have a God complex when I’m writing my books lol 😅. In real life, I’d most likely end the world by accident or something, haha.
      The sad thing about the “love cures all” trope is that I can understand it. It is a bit of a placebo, and it CAN help (like when you’re stressed or anxious and someone who you’re close with helps calm you down). But I just don’t like it when it’s treated like a magical cure-all (kinda like in Disney movies). It CAN work in fiction on occasion, but sometimes people take it too seriously.
      That’s okay! It is unpopular opinions, haha. I also like visuals, so that’s why I was like, “screenshots or GIFs?” I think I’ll use a mix of both. I’m glad you’re looking forward to the next post, though!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha yeah, I get you. I wasn’t a fan of the original movie either. I mean, it was okay. The Burton movies weren’t much better. I didn’t even watch the second one.
        Light is definitely an interesting character. You can like him, love him even, but you can’t really agree with his ways or at least, think they’re normal. He’s an absolute psychopath.
        I get that he starts with good intentions, but it quickly spirals down. Justifying the killing of innocents for the greater good is just not acceptable but still a dangerous path many people in real life go through, thinking it’s the right one. I like how the anime/manga portrays that very real side of human beings.
        I agree. Tons of things do work in fiction but people need to realize that’s all it is: fiction. Anything that promises an easy way out and sounds too good to be true, newsflash, it probably is…
        Screenshots are fine and easier to get, maybe? I love GIFs as much as the next person, as long as they’re not overwhelming, though. I think either is fine! Can’t wait! ^^

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The second one wasn’t even directed by Tim Burton. While my family enjoyed the first one, we were all like, “Yeah, no” to watching the second one.
        And that’s true! Light was such an interesting, well written character. I just didn’t like him by the end of it. He starts with good intentions, but by the end of the first episode his sanity is already gone.
        Fiction is just fiction. And I agree that if it’s too good to be true, it probably is.
        I’ve done mostly screenshots, but I wanted to incorporate some GIFs. Just not a lot! I’ll probably make an announcement when I finish editing them.

        Like

    1. It literally makes no sense to me! It just doesn’t work that way, and even in fantasy novels, I can’t buy it. You should read Shawshank! You can find it in Stephen King’s novella collection called Different Season. While I preferred the movie just a little more (I think a lot of it was the acting and soundtrack…it seemed more haunting), Different Seasons is amazing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

