The How I Choose my Books Tag

Thanks The Orangutan Librarian for tagging me for this! They have awesome book reviews, which I highly recommend!

Find a book on your shelves or ereader with a blue cover. What made you want to pick up this book?


I saw a post Icebreaker did on Books for the Fangirl, and this was recommended  for fans of Sherlock and Doctor Who. I love both, so I picked this up!

Think of a book you didn’t expect to enjoy, but did. Why did you read it in the first place?


This entire trilogy was a series I didn’t expect to love. But over Christmas Break, I had to do some medical stuff and my dad offered to get me something from Barnes and Noble. I remembered most of the blogging community was in love with Clare’s books, and since I love steampunk, I decided to try this out.

Stand in front of your bookshelf with your eyes closed and pick up a book at random. How did you discover this book?

A lot of bloggers talked about this for a while, and since it was a mystery and sounded like it had a good plot, I decided to try it out.
Pick a book that someone personally recommended to you. What did you think of it?


I was really bored one day, and my mom practically threw this book at me. It is still one of my favorite Stephen King books, if not my favorite. The characters were amazing, and I became really emotionally involved.

Pick a book that you discovered through YouTube / book blogs. Did it live up to the hype?


Yes. Yes it did. It took me a while to get into, but once I was into it, I was hooked.

Find a book on your shelves or ereader with a one-word title. What drew you to this book?


I actually enjoy Lauren Oliver’s books. While there may be gimmicky moments, I can look past that and see unique plots and good writing. When I found out she was writing a science fiction (and told so uniquely) I was immediately intrigued.

What book did you discover through a film / TV adaptation?

I have to agree with The Orangutan Librarian: Perks of Being a Wallflower. I liked both! I think the fact that the author directed the movie made it a good adaptation. I also have to say The Martian: another amazing adaptation.

Think of your all-time favourite book/s. When did you read these and why did you pick them up in the first place?

Why? Why is question? This hurts, these questions always do.. I can never choose my favorites, I like too many. Let’s just go with my latest book reviews, okay?

Ghostly Echoes: Third book in the Jackaby series, and I found it at the library.

I Hunt Killers: I saw it at Barnes and Noble, read the summary, noticed that it sounded like one of my favorite Webtoons, and bought it without even looking at the first page. It was a gamble that paid off. 

I Tag:

Jasmine
Mischenko 
Sydney
Birdie

10 thoughts on “The How I Choose my Books Tag

  1. Love reading your answers! That’s cool of your dad to pick up for you the Clockwork series. I enjoyed that series a lot too. I have seen the movie The Green Mile but haven’t read the book. Which is better for you? book or movie? Six of Crows, I enjoyed the read too. How do you like One of Us is Lying? I want to read that book as well. Thanks also for tagging me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I’d had to do some medical stuff, and he knew it was difficult for me, so when we stopped off at Barnes and Noble he offered to get me something and I chose that. I think he’s just happy I enjoy reading.
      I haven’t yet finished the movie version of the Green Mile…I started it a while back and liked it, but forgot to finish it…I do encourage you to read the book though!
      I really enjoyed One of Us is Lying, I made a review on it, if you’re curious.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s